Philistines: the name derives from the attested Illyrian locality Palaeste, whose inhabitants would have been called Palaestīnī according to normal grammatical practice.

The Philistines were a people described in the Hebrew Bible. The Hebrew term “pelistim” occurs 286 times in the Masoretic text of the Hebrew bible (of which 152 times in Samuel 1), whereas in the Greek Septuagint version of the Hebrew Bible, the equivalent term phylistiim occurs only 12 times, with the remaining 269 references instead using the term “allophylos” (“of another tribe”).

According to Joshua 13:3 and 1 Samuel 6:17, the land of the Philistines (or Allophyloi), called Philistia, was a Pentapolis in south-western Levant comprised the five city-states of Gaza, Ashkelon, Ashdod, Ekron, and Gath, from Wadi Gaza in the south to the Yarqon River in the north, but with no fixed border to the east. The Bible portrays them at one period of time as among the Kingdom of Israel’s most dangerous enemies. Biblical scholars have connected the Philistines to other biblical groups such as Caphtorim and the Cherethites and Pelethites, which have both been identified with Crete, and leading to the tradition of an Aegean origin, although this theory has been disputed. See also Palestinian People.

The evidence for and origins of the Philistines are not clear and is the subject of considerable research and speculation in biblical archaeology. Since 1822, scholars have connected the Biblical Philistines with the Egyptian “Peleset” inscriptions, all five of which appear from c.1150 BCE just as archaeological references to “Kinaḫḫu” or “Ka-na-na” (Canaan) come to an end, and since 1873 they have both been connected with the Aegean “Pelasgians”. Whilst the evidence for these connections is etymological and has been disputed, this identification is held by the majority of egyptologists and biblical archaeologists.

Medinet Habu is a mortuary temple that was constructed for Ramesess III at Thebes in Upper Egypt. The temple decoration consists of a series of reliefs and texts telling of the many exploits of the king, from his campaign against the Libyans to, most importantly, his war against the Sea Peoples.

The texts and reliefs that deal with the Sea Peoples date to year eight of Ramesess III’s reign, approximately 1190 B.C. The significance of these texts is that they provide an account of Egypt’s campaign against the “coalition of the sea” from an Egyptian point of view.

The Medinet Habu inscriptions are also significant for their artistic depictions of the Sea Peoples. These provide valuable information about the appearance and accoutrements of the various groups, and can lend clues towards deciphering their ethnic backgrounds (Redford 1992: 251).

But this was not the first attempted invasion by the Sea Peoples, the first attempt was against king Merneptah (reign:1213 to 1203 B.C.). His victory was recorded on his stele:

The Merneptah Stele — also known as the Israel Stele or Victory Stele of Merneptah — is an inscription by the Ancient Egyptian king Merneptah (reign:1213 to 1203 BC), which appears on the reverse side of a granite stele erected by the king Amenhotep III. It was discovered by Flinders Petrie in 1896 at Thebes.

The black granite stela primarily commemorates a victory in a campaign against the Libu and Meshwesh Libyans and their Sea People allies, but its final two lines refer to a prior military campaign in Canaan in which Merneptah states that he defeated Ashkelon, Gezer, Yanoam and Israel among others. The stele has gained much fame and notoriety for being the only Ancient Egyptian document generally accepted as mentioning “Isrir” or “Israel”. It is also, by far, the earliest known attestation of the demonym Israel.

The stele reads: Israel is wasted, bare of seed,

The Peleset and Tjeker (Minoans) of Crete, they would later be known as the “Philistines” after they had settled in Southern Canaan. Over time, this area became known by a form of their name “Palestine”. The Lukka who may have come from the Lycian region of Anatolia, The Ekwesh and Denen who seem to be identified with the original (Black) Greeks, The Shardana (Sherden) who may be associated with Sardinia, The Teresh (Tursha or Tyrshenoi), the Tyrrhenians – the Greek name for the Etruscans, and The  Shekelesh (Sicilians?).

From the textual evidence on the temple walls, it appears that the Peleset and the Tjeker made up the majority of the Sea Peoples involved in the year 8 invasion.

111 Comments

  1. Excellent beat ! I would like to apprentice whilst you amend
    your site, how could i subscribe for a weblog
    website? The account helped me a applicable deal.
    I have been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast
    offered brilliant transparent idea

  2. Having read this I thought it was rather informative.
    I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put
    this article together. I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and posting comments.

    But so what, it was still worth it!

  3. Incredible! This really is among the most helpful blogs we’ve ever discovered
    on this subject matter. Really fantastic. I’m likewise a professional in this topic therefore I can understand your effort.

  4. That is very attention-grabbing, You’re a very
    professional blogger. I have joined your rss
    feed and look ahead to seeking extra of
    your excellent post. Additionally, I’ve shared your site in my social networks

  5. Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite
    reason appeared to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked while people consider worries that they
    plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well
    as defined out the whole thing without having side
    effect , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
    Thanks

  6. I don’t even know how I ended up here, however I believed this submit was
    good. I don’t understand who you might be but certainly you’re going to a well-known blogger if you happen to aren’t already.

    Cheers!

  7. You actually make it appear really easy along with your presentation but I to find this matter to be really something which I
    think I would never understand. It sort of feels too complicated
    and extremely vast for me. I’m taking a look ahead for your next
    post, I’ll try to get the dangle of it!

  8. I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles
    or weblog posts in this sort of house . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this web site.
    Studying this information So i’m satisfied to express that I have a very good
    uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed.
    I most undoubtedly will make certain to do not disregard this
    site and provides it a glance regularly.

  9. Having read this I thought it was rather informative.
    I appreciate you spending some time and effort to put this article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending a lot of
    time both reading and commenting. But so
    what, it was still worth it!

  10. May I just say what a comfort to discover an individual who really understands what
    they’re discussing over the internet. You actually
    realize how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    A lot more people need to read this and understand this side
    of the story. I was surprised you are not more popular given that you certainly have the gift.

  11. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions.

    Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read even more things about it!

  12. My brother suggested I would possibly like this web site.
    He used to be entirely right. This post actually made my
    day. You cann’t imagine just how a lot time I had
    spent for this info! Thanks!

  13. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I definitely
    enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author.I will make sure to
    bookmark your blog and definitely will come back
    in the future. I want to encourage one to continue your great job, have a nice evening!

  14. Please keep on posting such high quality stories as this is an uncommon thing to find these
    days. I am always searching online for content which could assist me.
    Looking forward to another wonderful web site.

    All the best!

  15. I always used to study article in news papers but now as I am a user of web thus from now I am
    using net for articles or reviews, thanks to web.

  16. If you are going for most excellent contents like myself, just pay a quick visit this web page daily
    for the reason that it offers quality contents, thanks

  17. Thanks for every other magnificent post. Where else may just anyone
    get that kind of info in such a perfect waay of writing?
    I have a presentation subsequent week, and I’m at the look for suchh
    information.

  18. What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It positively useful and
    itt has helped me out loads. I’m hopng to give a contribution & help other customers like its helped me.
    Great job.

  19. Having read this I belieed it wass rather informative.
    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this information together.

    I once gain finnd myself personally spending a lot of
    time both rading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  20. You have made some good points there. I looked on the net for
    additional information about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this
    site.

  21. Have you ever considered publishing an e-book or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog centered on the same topics you discuss and would love to have you
    share some stories/information. I know my audience would appreciate your
    work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

  22. Somebody necessarily help to make severely articles I might state.
    That is the first time I frequented your web page and to
    this point? I amazed with the analysis you made to make this particular publish incredible.
    Excellent process!

  23. Nice read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he just bought me lunch as I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch!

  24. I used to be wondering the identical thing final I might listened to, Irwindale was shut down because of to bankruptcy through the owners…if it’s again open, I would like to grasp!!!

  25. Hey there fantastic blog! Does running a blog similar to
    this take a massive amount work? I have virtually no understanding of
    coding but I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyway,
    if you have any ideas or tips for new blog owners please
    share. I understand this is off topic but I just had to ask.
    Kudos!

  26. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

